Church and Control (my thought of the day)

I have been doing some thinking about the Church and the power and control leaders have or try to have over their congregation.
I am a born-again, bible believing, Jesus worshipping Christian. However, I have not stepped foot inside a “Church” in a long time.

I became a Christian in 1990, I was a member of one church for ten years until God called me out because of the vast spiritual abuse and un-Godly control within it. Then, after a few months, I became the associate pastor of another church for three years. This church was filled with sin, it had leaders who stole, did drugs, slept around and so on. Now many would say that I must have gone ahead of God, and went to these churches, I questioned it myself, but in time I realized that I was supposed to be there. I am not a person to bend to the will of others, rather I do what God wants…and not man. I was supposed to be there to see that there are corrupt churches and to try and bring the will of God to the people and pray for them. But it did not happen, God removed those who were seeking Him from the first and the second burned down. Both churches controlled their members through fear as well. Using the name of God against the people by twisting scripture and false prophecies.
The pastor of the church that I was a member of for ten years has a heart for the lost, the issue mostly with that church was the leadership, they behaved one way in church when in front of the pastor, but behaved in a whole other way when they were not around the pastor. Their lives did not line up with the word of God.
For some reason the pastor never saw it, and when someone would leave because they had enough of the abuse and when they tried to tell the pastor and his wife, they did not believe it, they thought that the person leaving was controlled by Jesebel and was lying.
This only made everything worse.
I saw terrible things happening within churches, such as senior pastors steal, kick people out if they did not do what they wanted them to, I heard from members that some leaders wanted details of what they did in the bedroom, members were told that they had to work in the church because if they didn’t then they obviously were not dedicated, they were told to give money and if they didn’t they were not dedicated. Also if they did not do what they were told then they were either kicked from their position in the church or never given a position. Leaders would also gossip about members of their congregation and some would tell dirty and crude jokes as well as take pills and drink alcohol. I could go on.
I also heard pastors and leaders tell people their opinion of politicians running in elections, building up one side while tearing down the other in an attempt to swing the congregation into voting the way they vote.
If someone has a different view on the politicians and political situation they will be shunned and made to feel inferior.
There is so much more I could write about this, but the point I am trying to make is:
-The church has no business in controlling people’s thoughts and actions.

-It has no business in influencing the votes and opinions that the congregation has about politics.
The place that Christians and the church in general has when it comes to politics is to pray for its nation and its leaders.
Many people leave churches and either never go back or attend a different one because of this spiritual abuse and control that is happening within the walls of the churches.
If pastors and leaders truly care about people and their salvation then they need to let go of control and let God be God. To love the people and to gently guide them, not force them to change.
God must be allowed to be God, the only one that can change the heart of a sinner or a misguided person is Jesus, and even He does not force himself on anyone, He simply loves them and shows them the way. He does not try to influence people into thinking His way either. Jesus allows us to make up our own minds by gently touching our hearts and quietly speaking to our spirits. If we are allowed to listen to Him rather than forced into doing what a person wants then we will make the right decisions and the family of God will grow the way God intended it to.

About One Planet In Review

I have travelled extensively all over this great planet of ours. I have seen many cultures, lands and oceans to name only a little of what I have seen. This planet of ours is our home, for all to enjoy. Let us keep it friendly, clean and accessible to all.

Posted on May 31, 2012, in Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

