Goodbye

I used to soar like an eagle, once upon a time,
I would glide about all day long, doing just fine,
Then one day I realized, life had flown on by,
somewhere along the way, I forgot to even try,
What did happen? How could this be?
I suppose no one really knows, this is life, and now it’s me,
The air currents are gone, I cannot glide anymore, so my wings I flap real hard
but the strength is gone, so down I go, I know I’ll hit the ground real hard,
Here it comes, faster and faster, oh My God what do I do?
There is nothing, it’s too late, my life is over I am through,
I close my eyes, it all turns black, my breath is almost gone,
Strength drains from my body, anytime now it’ll be over, it won’t be long,
Good bye sweet world, I say goodbye,
Do not shed a tear for me, do not whimper a single a cry.
…Goodbye.

©Thomas H Czech, 2011

This poem is a poem about how one feels after loss. It is not a literal, physical death, but a feeling of death on the inside. It is not to be taken literally, it is merely an allegory. I write because for me it is therapeutic, this is how I came up with this one. It is after dealing with loss.
Thanks for reading,
Thomas

About One Planet In Review

I have travelled extensively all over this great planet of ours. I have seen many cultures, lands and oceans to name only a little of what I have seen. This planet of ours is our home, for all to enjoy. Let us keep it friendly, clean and accessible to all.

Posted on August 11, 2011, in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

